Begin Again

Begin Again is about Gretta (Keira Knightley), a young singer-songwriter new to Manhattan who has a chance encounter with Dan (Mark Ruffalo), a disgraced music business executive. There is obviously a bit more to that story which includes Gretta’s rockstar ex, Dave (Adam Levine), and her close friend, Steve (James Corden).

This ended up being a surprising movie that I liked a lot more than I thought I would. The story structure is unique in that it isn’t entirely linear or something that we see a lot in movies which made it refreshing to watch the story unfold. Revealing bits and pieces of each character gradually and in semi-nontraditional ways makes it engaging and memorable.

Although I wasn’t sure how to feel about Keira Knightley as a singer-songwriter, I actually ended up loving it. By the end of the movie, I was completely invested in her as a character. The entire idea revolving around her album was so intriguing to me that I wish they would have released the full version of the album as it was recorded in the movie.

Overall, I really enjoyed this movie. I was pleasantly surprised by the cast performances especially those I hadn’t seen in anything else like Hailee Steinfeld and Adam Levine. There were great character moments, and I like the organic feel of this particular type of musical wherein it actually makes sense for characters to break out into song. Although I have included the trailer, I feel like the movie is better if you do go in without seeing so much of the story first.

Leave a Reply

